

## Daryl Maguire MP Member for Wagga Wagga

## PRESS RELEASE

16 February 2018

## NEW HOME FOR THE RIVERINA CONSERVATORIUM OF MUSIC

Daryl Maguire MP, Member for Wagga Wagga, alongside Riverina Conservatorium of Music (RCM) Board Chairman Dr Andrew Wallace and RCM Director Hamish Tait today announced that the RCM has secured a permanent new home at 1 Simmons St, Wagga Wagga.

Mr Maguire said RCM's move into the former RSM facility is due to an impending lease expiry in 2020 at Charles Sturt University, where they are currently located.

"The building will be redeveloped to house a world class music recital space and its within close proximity to the existing cultural precinct in the City of Wagga Wagga, it will be an excellent addition," Mr Maguire said.

RCM Director Hamish Tait, said the new building will secure the future of musical education and performance across the Riverina now and for future generations.

"It will provide world class cultural infrastructure for the whole community and it will be the premier performance venue for classical music across all of regional NSW."

"It will attract visiting musicians nationally and internationally and will also provide the cultural sector employment and significant economic stimulation for the City and region." said Mr Tait.

RCM Chair Dr Andrew Wallace expressed his gratitude to the Member for Wagga Wagga for this vision and commitment to ensure Wagga Wagga and the Riverina has a superior conservatorium of music.

'On behalf of the RCM board and staff we would like to acknowledge that this announcement would not have been possible without the tireless support of Mr Maguire. "

RCM was established in 1981 by the Riverina College of Advanced Education, today the institution teaches more than 1200 students scattered across the Riverina via video based programs.

RCM is one of the largest NSW Regional conservatoriums and employs around 46 professional music education teachers and admin staff.

Media: Sarah Vasey Phone: 02 6921 1622 or 0432 230 003

Email: sarah.vasey@parliament.nsw.gov.au